Notable Alumni

Honours Boards

César Mange de Hauke
(1911 - 13)

International art collector and benefactor to the British Museum

Lindsay Anderson
(1923 - 1994)

Director & Critic

Julian Asquith

2nd Earl of Oxford and Asquith

Christopher Charles Richard Battiscombe Esq., CMG

Former Ambassador to Algeria (1990-4) and Jordan (1994-7)

Sir Richard Rodney Bennett


Sir William Richard Benyon

Former MP for Buckingham, Berkshire landowner and former High Sheriff of Berkshire

Simon Berry

Chairman of Berry Bros & Rudd, Wine & Spirit merchants, St James's

Raymond Bonham-Carter
(1929 - 2004)

Leading banker, (father of Helena)

General Sir Robert "Bobbie" Bray
GBE, KCB, DSO (1908 – 1983)

Deputy Supreme Commander Europe of
NATO's Allied Command Europe

Richard Bridgeman

7th Earl of Bradford 

Arthur Patrick Chichester

8th Marquess of Donegall

Major General RL Clutterbuck

Colonel Commandant, Royal Engineers and senior university lecturer

Douglas Cochrane

15th Earl of Dundonald

Sir James Croft, Bt.

11th Baronet

Malcolm William Mackenzie Davidson

3rd Viscount Davidson

Peter Dickinson

Author; OBE for services to literature

Frank Gardner

BBC security correspondent

Sir Richard Gaskell

President of the Law Society, Knight Principal
of the Imperial Society of Knights Bachelor

Vice Admiral Gray

WWII naval commander 

Sir Michael Grylls

MP, father of "Bear" Grylls

D P Heathcoat-Amory

Formerly Paymaster-General and MP for the Somerset constituency of Wells

Michael FitzGerald Heathcoat-Amory

Former High Sheriff of Devon

Robert Jocelyn

10th Earl of Roden 

Sir Osbert Lancaster
CBE (1908 - 1986)


Piers de Laszlo


Percy "Laddie" Lucas
CBE, DSO, DFC (1915 - 1998)

WWII airman, author & MP

Donald Maclean
(1913 - 1983)

British diplomat, Soviet spy, KGB colonel

Sir Laurie Magnus

Investment banker, Deputy Chairman of the National Trust and Trustee of the Barbican Centre Trust

Christopher Makins

2nd Baron Sherfield, Anglo-American diplomat, foreign policy expert, author

Hon T J Manners

Chairman of the issuing Houses Association

Jonathan Neame

Chief Executive of Shepherd Neame

Airey Neave
DSO, OBE, MC (1916 – 1979)

Soldier, Colditz escapee, barrister & MP

Francis Newall

2nd Baron Newall, businessman, diplomat and politician

The Rt. Hon Sir Martin Nourse

Attorney General to the Duchy of Lancaster 1976-1980, Lord Justice of Appeal 1985, Acting Master of the Rolls 2000

Robert d'Orleans

Comte de la Marche 

John Palmer

4th Earl of Selborne, Conservative Peer, Chairman of the Foundation for Science and Technology 2006-

Matthew Parrish

Olympic rower

Mark Shand

Travel writer and conservationist. Brother of Camilla, Duchess of Cornwall.

Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede

Chairman of the GLC, Labour Chief Whip 1982-1990

John Raven

Classical scholar

Philip Remnant

Chairman of the Shareholder Executive

General Sir Charles Richardson

Chief Royal Engineer

Clive Rouse
MBE (1901 - 1997)


Alan Roxburgh

Eton top scholar, great nephew of Stowe's founding head

Sir Charles Saumarez-Smith 

Chief Executive of the Royal Academy of Arts 

Oliver Saxby

Queen's Counsel

Philip John Algernon Sidney

2nd Viscount De L’Isle MBE, Lord Lieutenant of Kent and former soldier

Lyulph Stanley

7th Baron Stanley of Alderley, 6th Baron Eddisbury and 7th Baron Sheffield

Major-General Michael Tennant

Director of the Royal Artillery 1991-4, Chairman of the CCF Association

The Rt. Rev. Michael Whinney

Bishop of Southwell, great-great-grandson of Charles Dickens



Welcome to our web site. Read my introduction.

Find out who we are.
Meet the Teachers.