About the Foundation Stage

Foundation Stage Co-ordinator: Simone Edwards

Children in the Nursery and Reception classes follow the statutory curriculum known as the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS).

There are seven areas of learning and development in the Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. These three areas, the Prime are:

• Communication and Language
• Physical Development
• Personal, Social and Emotional Development

The curriculum also supports children in four Specific areas, through which the Prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:

• Literacy
• Mathematics
• Understanding the World
• Expressive Arts and Design

Through these seven areas, children acquire the skills, knowledge and experiences needed to help them learn and develop. The areas are equally important, depend on each other and allow us to present a rounded approach to child development. All the areas are delivered through planned, purposeful play, with a balance of adult-led and child-initiated activities supporting learning. Teachers monitor the progress of the children and many will be learning beyond the EYFS, especially in Literacy and Numeracy, by the end of the Reception year.